It is currently 20 Oct 2017 04:57

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2007 19:43 
Offline

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 22:59
Posts: 134
Location: Cardiff, UK
I have just received an easyPic4, having been a long time user of an easyPic2.

I installed the PicFlash2 program. and the drivers, as per the manual.

I changed the preferences in the IDE to use PicFlash2, not PicFlash1.

Whenever I try to use Picflash, either directly, or from within the IDE, I always get the same error message:

Device currently selected is not [PICFLASH prog]

This is despite:
having reinstalled the picflash2 and picflash2 driver software,
the USB link being ON.

Any suggestions as to what to try next to get my EasyPIC4 working? I looked at the other threads in this forum but they did not seem to help.

This is all under Windows XP.

One further data point - I am running this under Virtual PC on a Mac. That worked for my easyPIC2. Is it possible the error is caused by the higher speed USB2 of the easyPIC4?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2007 20:38 
Offline

Joined: 19 Oct 2006 17:46
Posts: 1330
Location: Colorado, USA
Depending on the PIC that you are using, you have to ensure that JP3 and JP4 are set correctly or PicFlash2 will report that the device is incorrect. For settings, look at the back of the board near the bottom.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2007 20:44 
Offline

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 22:59
Posts: 134
Location: Cardiff, UK
Thanks, but those jumpers are OK for the device in use.

Its not complaining that the device is incorrect, but is giving the specific error message above.

Any other ideas?


Last edited by ralphrmartin on 22 Mar 2007 21:34, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2007 20:52 
Offline

Joined: 19 Oct 2006 17:46
Posts: 1330
Location: Colorado, USA
That is strange as I have 2 EP4's and have never seen that message. You may right that the MAC may be cause. Maybe try it on a PC to eliminate that possibility.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2007 22:06 
Offline

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 22:59
Posts: 134
Location: Cardiff, UK
Just a further point: if in the picFlash program I select USB-> Show Devices, I see one device called USB18F Firmware v1.20 -PICFLASH prog, so it seems the right device is recognised. Its just that the picflash software is refusing to talk to it - despite reinstalling it, and its drivers.

And having read another thread - further info. I bought my board through Paltronix in the UK. The quality control sitckers on the board say:
Controlled by SP 02/2007
Verify by 02-LA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2007 10:19 
Offline
mikroElektronika team
User avatar

Joined: 30 Nov 2005 10:40
Posts: 554
Hi,

what version of PICflash programmer you are using. Try downloading the latest PICflash programmer software:
http://www.mikroe.com/zip/picflash2_programmer.zip

Best regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2007 10:20 
Offline

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 22:59
Posts: 134
Location: Cardiff, UK
I am already using 7.04, downloaded last night from the website.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2007 10:49 
Offline
mikroElektronika team
User avatar

Joined: 30 Nov 2005 10:40
Posts: 554
Hi,

try using EasyPIC4 on a PC with WindowsXP installed (not on Virtual PC on a Mac).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2007 11:04 
Offline

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 22:59
Posts: 134
Location: Cardiff, UK
It will be a disappointment if the EasyPIC4 is not compatible with Virtual PC - I do not own a PC and will have to go back to my EasyPIC2.

I'll see if I can find some other PC to try the EasyPIC4 on, just to make sure it is working OK, first.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2007 20:18 
Offline

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 22:59
Posts: 134
Location: Cardiff, UK
Just tried my EasyPIC4 on a proper PC with Windows XP, and it seems to be working fine...

So, it seems the board is OK, and the jumper settings etc.

I wonder if it's a software fault on my other machine - or whether Virtual PC just can't hack the USB 2.0 bandwidth needed...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Aug 2017 23:32 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2017 23:28
Posts: 1
Hi guys

I have the same problem, and I am already using PC with windows, any idea?


Attachments:
error pic.JPG
error pic.JPG [ 101.62 KiB | Viewed 1071 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2017 19:03 
Offline
mikroElektronika team
User avatar

Joined: 02 Feb 2017 14:21
Posts: 617
Hi,

Can you try running picFlash as Administrator?
And also can you see how does the device detect in Device Manager?

Regards,

_________________
Dusan Poluga.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: