It is currently 21 May 2018 06:13

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 04 Feb 2018 15:36 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
I have owned VTFT for many years.

Why are the Pic microcontroller IDE owners left behind?

Why do we NOT have fancy gauges and dials like the EVE layout, yet WE MUST PAY THE SAME MONEY!!! ?
Our screen size is also limited because to my knowledge, Mikroelektronika do not produce a mikromedia board for Pic with an 800x480 screen.
So if you don't produce one, we can't create one.

Enough said.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018 02:08 
Offline

Joined: 10 Apr 2011 18:58
Posts: 37
Location: Bucharest, Romania
+1
Teo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018 17:13 
Offline
mikroElektronika team
User avatar

Joined: 15 Jan 2016 12:50
Posts: 1717
Hi,

There are components for gauges and dials for FT8xx graphic controllers,
on which exactly components are you referring which don't exist in compilers for PIC?

You can choose whenever size (which specific graphic controller supports it),
but in version of Visual TFT which is merged with compiler.

Please proceed with Visual TFT inside the newest version of the compiler (7.1.0)
instead of standalone version, since standalone version will not be updated anymore.

Kind regards,
Lana


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Feb 2018 00:08 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
Thank you Lana for your reply.

I am in the middle of creating a keyboard for an 800x480 screen, I do not remember how I got the page to stay on 800x480 because most of the graphics chips have a specific size!
Usually, selecting the SSD1963, the size only shows 640 x ....
I have saved the screen as a custom board.

I just clicked About and it only shows the Pic ide at rev 4.0.0, I do not see how to check the VTFT version.
It also says there are no updates.

I am not using ' FT8xx graphic controllers' so have very few options compared to that controller !
I think I tried the other week to use the FT8... library, I got ten million errors when trying to convert it to the 'world standard' 800x480 SSD1963.
I had to add the FT813 library to my MikroC Pro for Pic32 to get rid of lots of errors, after all that, there was sooo much stuff to amend and delete, I gave up.
So why does the FT library have all the functions and nearly everything else does not?

Since we are discussing the VTFT, it always removes code from the IDE when I attempt to adjust the smallest item in VTFT.
I go back to the IDE and half the code has gone!
Also, if I uncheck the box for Touchpanel, it still generates a small portion of code that has to be deleted everytime.

I have just retried to set a new screen to 800x480, it is soooo difficult, I think the FT813 was the only place that allowed a custom size !!
You make it sound easy, but it is not.

Try and build something for an 800x480 SSD1963 and let me know when it takes you more than 30 minutes.

I have attached some screen shots from tonight, it wont let me add the 4th capture with the many errors of 'undeclared items' etc
Thank you.


Attachments:
screen3.JPG
screen3.JPG [ 32.69 KiB | Viewed 293 times ]
Screen2.JPG
Screen2.JPG [ 91.35 KiB | Viewed 293 times ]
VTFT Screen1.JPG
VTFT Screen1.JPG [ 122.66 KiB | Viewed 293 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Feb 2018 11:17 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
Hi Lana,
I thought last night we were going off topic.
If one has the fusion v7 board, one is limited with the VTFT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Feb 2018 09:08 
Offline
mikroElektronika team
User avatar

Joined: 15 Jan 2016 12:50
Posts: 1717
Hi,

john.broderick wrote:
Usually, selecting the SSD1963, the size only shows 640 x ....
I have saved the screen as a custom board.

That issue is solved in the newest version of the compiler with merged Visual TFT,
you can choose whatever size that you want.
john.broderick wrote:
I just clicked About and it only shows the Pic ide at rev 4.0.0, I do not see how to check the VTFT version.
It also says there are no updates.

At this moment, the newest version of the compiler is 4.0.0,
and version of Visual TFT which is merged with the compiler is the newest one.
And from now one with the newest version of the compiler, the newest version of Visual TFT will be integrated.
john.broderick wrote:
I had to add the FT813 library to my MikroC Pro for Pic32 to get rid of lots of errors, after all that, there was sooo much stuff to amend and delete, I gave up.
So why does the FT library have all the functions and nearly everything else does not?

Did you install compiler as administrator? Libraries for FT8xx now come with the compiler (version 4.0.0).
FT8xx graphic controllers already have integrated components for gauges and dials (for example),
that is why they can be chosen in Visual TFT.
john.broderick wrote:
Since we are discussing the VTFT, it always removes code from the IDE when I attempt to adjust the smallest item in VTFT.
I go back to the IDE and half the code has gone!

Did you place your code in section Users code? Did you try as workaround to surround change with
two blank lines as per this post
john.broderick wrote:
Also, if I uncheck the box for Touchpanel, it still generates a small portion of code that has to be deleted everytime.

I'm sorry because of this, that issue is reported to our developers.
john.broderick wrote:
I have just retried to set a new screen to 800x480, it is soooo difficult, I think the FT813 was the only place that allowed a custom size !!
You make it sound easy, but it is not.

Try and build something for an 800x480 SSD1963 and let me know when it takes you more than 30 minutes.

I'm sorry, but I couldn't reproduce the issue.
I have tried, and it was working properly, can you please reinstall compiler as administrator?

Kind regards,
Lana


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018 14:23 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
Further to my recent messages, I am now struggling with pictures BMP's

Before VTFT was merged, I had an 800x480 screen, I could import a bitmap, compile it, get the resources file and copy it to my main.

I would then simply write TFT_Image(0,0,mybitmap,1) and the picture would work 100% of the time.
Now it does not.

If I select 'external' and use a res file, it does work.

Are you able to help and point out why I can no longer get 800x480 pictures to work?
Just for ref, I have the F8.. 800x480 screen controller and I am using an ssd1963 controller.

My normal fusion 320x240 does still work for internal and external pictures.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018 14:57 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
I have just Re installed MikroC pro for Pic32 after uninstalling it !!

I said VTFT will NOT let me change the size of the screen to 800x480 for the SSD1963

YOU SAID "That issue is solved in the newest version of the compiler with merged Visual TFT, you can choose whatever size that you want."

YOU ARE WRONG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tell me how to change an SSD1963 controller to 800x480 please with a BRAND NEW INSTALL ON WINDOWS 10 JUST AS IT USE TO WORK BEFORE YOU MESSED UP THE WHOLE LOT BY MERGING IT.

You also wrote "Did you install compiler as administrator?"

So doing that changes a screen size?

NO IT DOES NOT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018 16:17 
Offline

Joined: 03 Sep 2008 16:17
Posts: 803
Hi John maybe this could help viewtopic.php?f=164&t=70909

_________________
Serge T.
Learning is an endeless process but it must start somewhere!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018 19:11 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
Thank you Toley

It's very kind of you to help.
It sounds promising and will adjust the file right now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018 19:23 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
OMG !!!!!

2 minutes work and problem solved !!
It proves that the latest version of the software had not been fixed.

I found the correct files, right click in Windows 10 and 'edit' appears.
Changed original file and Mikro's file and job done in 2 minutes.

Toley you are quite magic :D
Thank you very very much.


Attachments:
Magic.JPG
Magic.JPG [ 62.99 KiB | Viewed 198 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2018 21:23 
Offline

Joined: 31 Dec 2012 21:54
Posts: 41
Hi Toley,

My bitmaps are now working as they did years ago before the programs were messed up with the update, some update when I can't do what I use to do.

Thank you again for the correct information.

If you're interested in SSD1963 screen capture, I have just put a video on YouTube showing how easy it is once we know what bits to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Feb 2018 18:26 
Offline
mikroElektronika team
User avatar

Joined: 15 Jan 2016 12:50
Posts: 1717
Hi,

I have answered you on the ticket,
I suggest to continue our correspondence there.

Kind regards,
Lana


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: