It is currently 22 Apr 2018 13:40

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ICD error with mcl files
PostPosted: 05 Sep 2017 14:40 
Offline

Joined: 08 Mar 2005 16:06
Posts: 675
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
I have a project that has many modules added. To avoid upsetting those files I have them in an "Include" folder only as .mcl files so that I can re-use them with a similar project but with a different program.

I am using the P18F45K22 with easyPic7 and Mikrobasic V 7.1.0 compiler

The compiler is fine with a release build and it sort of works but with a couple of anomalies.

I tried to use an ICD build to debug the problems but it will not build although the files are present. The error screen is attached as a pdf
Attachment:
ICD error.pdf [245.95 KiB]
Downloaded 9 times



The first few lines:
include New_port_read
include  DS_functions_1
include Vars2_mod
include OLED_1
include GetDay_1
include SeeTime_1
include menus_1


are not needed for the release build and it seems to compile with no error.

With or without those lines in, it will not build for the ICD version.

All files are in the sub folder of the program and project folder and the path appears to be correct in the Edit Paths menu.

Is it intentional that the debugger will not allow building with reference to .mcl files? The error messages say there is no .mbas file available for those .mcl files I have created.

If I change the files to the original .mbas modules it appears to build OK.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Sep 2017 15:21 
Offline

Joined: 18 Feb 2006 13:17
Posts: 4892
If you want precompiled modules to be used in ICD mode then they have to be compiled in this mode. They'll work fine with main program in release mode, as well.

Quote:
The error messages say there is no .mbas file available for those .mcl files I have created.
If the modules were precompiled in release mode then compiler wants to re-compile them in ICD mode and needs sources. Hence the error.

_________________
Replacement libraries for mP PRO and PIC18 processors, mP PRO tips & trics


Last edited by janni on 05 Sep 2017 15:27, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Sep 2017 15:26 
Offline

Joined: 08 Mar 2005 16:06
Posts: 675
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Thanks Janni.

I just never came across this problem before, mainly as I have always used the original .mbas files.

I was trying to preserve my originals so even I could not corrupt them!

I will move the .mcls and recompile in ICD mode.

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: